A Prayer for Lent: “Catch Me in My Scurrying”

As we approach the Fourth Sunday of Lent, I wonder how you’re doing.  This is a busy time for many people.  Work and chores.  Raising children.  Hockey games.  Report cards.  Volunteering.  Sometimes life gets a bit full!  During the season of Lent, we’re invited to slow things down and be more reflective.  To take a few minutes each day and ask, “How is it going with my soul?”  As we take such time for reflection, we draw close to the Lord and we prepare our hearts for his death and resurrection.  The following prayer for Lent by Ted Loder (Guerillas of Grace) has helped me to slow down and be a bit more reflective, so I offer it to you:

Catch me in my anxious scurrying, Lord,
and hold me in this Lenten season:
hold my feet to the fire of your grace
and make me attentive to my mortality
that I may begin to die now
to those things that keep me
from living with you and my neighbors on this earth; 
to grudges and indifference,
to certainties that smother possibilities,
to my fascination with false securities,
to my addiction to sweatless dreams,
to my arrogant insistence on how it has to be;
to my corrosive fear of dying someday
which eats away the wonder of living this day,
and the adventures of losing my life
in order to find it in you.

Amen!

Leave a Reply

