New Blog Post: “Worship Retreat”

I have the privilege of taking a worship retreat next week.  This retreat/conference is called the “Calvin Symposium on Worship,” and will occur at Calvin College, in Grand Rapids, MI.  After five years of ordained parish ministry, I’m increasingly convinced of the formative nature of the worship service.  And I’d like to explore this further.  How does the worship service form people spiritually?  How can we as a local church become more effective in evangelism and discipleship through our worship services?  These are some of my questions.  I’m also going to the Symposium because I want to worship the Lord without having to lead a worship service.  Just rest in God’s presence for a while.  Sit at Jesus’ feet!  Dwell in God’s Word, namely the Book of Exodus, which is the worship theme.  So, please pray for me as I attend this worship retreat. 

 

Leave a Reply

