New Blog Post: Prayer of the Day

This year I’m using A Guide to Prayer for Ministers and Other Servants, by Reuben P. Job and Norman Shawchuck (The Upper Room, 1983), which has been a helpful guide for solitude and silence.  But I’ve found today’s prayer by Peter Marshall (p. 297) especially helpful, so I record it below (with updated language) for your benefit.  I invite you to pray this prayer today, and perhaps often.

Father, I’m beginning to know how much I miss when I fail to talk to you in prayer, and through prayer to receive into my life the strength and the guidance which only you can give.  Forgive me for the pride and presumption that make me continue to struggle to manage my own affairs to the exhaustion of my body, the weariness of my mind, the trial of my faith. In a moment like this I know that you could have worked your good in me with so little strain, with so little effort.  And than you would have received the praise and glory.  When I neglect to pray, the loss is mine.  Forgive me, Lord.  Amen.

2 thoughts on “New Blog Post: Prayer of the Day

  1. What a fantastic prayer. You have confirmed what God has been working in my heart the last 6 months. The last few months I have had to rely on the answer to Prayer to continue the burden that had been laid on my heart. Praise Be to God…He is Worthy
    Brother kirk

    • I’m glad you enjoy the prayer Kirk,
      Sometimes a written/formal prayer just says it better than we can on our own. A strong case in point are the psalms!
      I’m glad you’ve found the Lord to be so faithful in prayer over the last few months. PTL!
      I look forward to more conversations! Let’s keep walking the Emmaus Road together!
      –Leon

Leave a Reply

