New Blog Post: “The Joy of Generosity” Part 3: Generous Giving

On Feb. 10 we take one more look at stewardship via the Robert Heerpsink series: “The Joy of Generosity” (Reformed Worship, March 2001).  This has been a good journey for me, and I hope also for you.  If nothing else, I pray it has helped to start a conversation in our church about stewardship.  How do we use the resources that God has given us?  Are we really leveraging them to make disciples of Christ?  This Sunday we ask our final question: Why give generously?  According to the Apostle Paul in 2 Corinthians 9:6-15, we should give generously for at least the following reasons (outline courtesy of David Garland [New American Commentary]:

1. It will make you spiritually rich (vv. 8–10);

2. It will bring thanksgiving to God (vv. 11–13);

3. The recipients will respond with prayers for you (v. 14);

4. It will advance [and bless] the worldwide Christian community (vv. 13–14).

The Lord calls us to give generously.  I confess that I sometimes struggle to do that, as life is expensive and our budget only goes so far.  But I’ve been challenged to dig a bit deeper these days and trust the Lord to provide generously, so that we can give generously.  And I invite you to do the same.  I look forward to becoming spiritually richer as I give more generously.  “Thanks be to God for his indescribable gift!” (2 Cor. 9:15 NIV).

2 thoughts on “New Blog Post: “The Joy of Generosity” Part 3: Generous Giving

  1. Amen Pastor, I believe most of us share in this struggle. This blog is well written and full of God given wisdom. I praise God for your faithfulness to preach the untainted word of God. Blessings brother Kirk

    • As always, thank you for reading my blog and supporting me in ministry, Brother Kirk.
      May the Lord draw us all to him on Feb. 10, and challenge us to become increasingly generous with all He has given–through Jesus Christ our Lord.
      –Leon

Leave a Reply

