New Blog Post: “The Great Cloud of Witnesses”

With Halloween behind us, my thoughts turn to All Saints’ Day, which is celebrated by some on November 1.  This is a day to give thanks for all those who have gone before us.  Indeed, there is a “great cloud of witnesses” (Hebrews 12:1) who have taught and mentored us.  So who are some of those people?  A few come to mind for me (past and present):

Grandma Muriel: She’s my spiritual mother, the one who has mentored me from the cradle.  I don’t know where I’d be spiritually speaking, if my Grandma hadn’t invested in my life and prayed for me regularly.

Lorne & Norma Hunter: They were the youth leaders during my teenage years.  They accepted me, called me to leadership, and listened to me countless times.

Pastor Bill: He modelled a humble, faithful and hands-on pastoral ministry for me at just the right time, when I was discerning my call.  He helped me realize that with God’s help and some training, a farm boy could be an effective pastor.

Eugene H. Peterson: Although a mentor in writing only, he has modeled a contemplative pastoral ministry that I seek to emulate.  He has guided me many times as a pastor and is teaching me how to be a faithful and effective pastor in this generation.

Dallas Willard: Again, another mentor in writing, one who has opened my eyes to the truth of the Gospel, the beauty of life in God’s Kingdom, which begins now.  I am so indebted to this man, who has become my “spiritual director in writing.”

Pastor Walt: My current mentor and spiritual director.  I thank the Lord for this man, who meets with me monthly to listen, to help me work through pastoral issues, and to form me into a godly leader.

These are only a few of the saints (past and present) whom the Lord has used to mentor me.  So what about you?  Who has helped you grow spiritually?  I invite you to reflect on that question today, to thank the Lord for these people, and perhaps even thank one of these individuals who make up the “great cloud of witnesses.”

Leave a Reply

