New Blog Post: Reflections on Eugene H. Peterson’s, “The Pastor” (on Worship)

I recently read Eugene H. Peterson’s memoir, The Pastor, and I’m so glad I did.  I’ve read a few of his books in the past, and they have effectively formed me for life and godliness–and for pastoral minstry.  I’m now “harvesting” quotes from this book, so let me share one gem with you, one from his chapter called, “Wayne and Claudia”: “When I became a pastor, I resolved on a double focus for keeping my vocation on track: worship and community.  At this point in my ‘long obedience,’ that resolve had been thoroughly tested and had developed and extensive root system.  It had to it if was to survive.  The religious culture of America that I was surrounded with dismayed me on both counts.  Worship had been degraded into entertainment.  And community had been depersonalized into programs. . . . It struck me as a violation of the holy, a secularization of the sacred.  Taking the Lord’s name in vain.  I determined to reintroduce the rubric ‘Let us worship God’ for my congregation, and then really do it.  I knew this wasn’t going to be easy.  The entertainment model for worship in America was pervasive” (254).  Now you can see why I enjoy this book so much.  Peterson has become a spiritual director and pastoral mentor for me over the years.  I thank God for him and would encourage you to also consider reading him.  The Pastor would be a great place to start!

Leave a Reply

