New Blog Post: Reflections on Genesis 45: Joseph Reveals His Identity & God’s Plan

If you’ve been reading my blog, you’ll know that I’ve recently reflected on Genesis 42
to 44 in an effort to help you follow the Joseph story and to prepare you for chapter 45.  This is the climax of the story.  I don’t know about you, but I find the entire narrative engaging, especially this scene where Joseph reveals his identity and God’s plan.  I confess that I have a hard time getting through this chapter–I find it so moving.  I’m touched by the way Joseph forgives his brothers after they treated him so cruelly.  Moreover, I’m amazed at his sense of God’s providence in all things.  As he says: “Do not be distressed and do not be angry with yourselves for selling me here, because it was to save lives that God sent me ahead of you” (v. 5).  Oh to be as gracious and spiritually mature as Joseph!  May the Lord move us in this direction as his people.  So, whom do you need to forgive?  How will you release your anger toward that person(s)?  Also, as you look back on your life, what negative situation has the Lord redeemed and turned into something good?

Leave a Reply

