My Life is Worth Living: The Joseph Narrative of Genesis

I love a good story!  In fact, I’m currently reading Anne of Green Gables with my kids, and I can hardly wait for bedtime to come, so we can see what Anne is up to today.  I’ve also recently finished reading some of Gary D. Schmidt’s novels for young adults, which I would highly recommend to any one who loves a good story.  Most of us love a good story.  They engage us and delight us.  So it’s no surprise that the Lord chose to record many stories in Scripture.  In fact, the Bible is one grand story of redemption that consists of numerous stories.  And of all the stories in Scripture, the Joseph narrative of Genesis is one of my favorites.  It’s also, in my opinion, one of the most colorful and exciting stories of Scripture.  Happily, we turn to it this week as the third part of a year-long curriculum for Christlikeness that I’ve conducted at Wolf Creek Community Church with the guidance of Dallas Willard (The Divine Conspiracy).  First we caught a  glimpse of our great and awesome God–the Maker of heaven and earth–via a study of Isaiah (Advent 2011).  Then through a study of the Gospel of John we followed the One that the Maker of heaven and earth sent to redeem us from our sin and to give us abundant life–Jesus (January to May).  And now, in an attempt to find our place in the grand story of redemption, and to become utterly convinced of God’s goodness and love, we turn to the Joseph narrative (Genesis 37-50).  Unfortunately we don’t have time to study every chapter of this story, but we’ll aim to study at least the following texts: 37:1-16; 41:1-40; 45:1-28; 50:1-26.  I invite you to read the entire Joseph story with me
this summer.  Perhaps you can make it a family project.  I know you won’t be disappointed.  However you decide to engage in this story, it’s my hope and prayer that through it you’ll become thoroughly convinced of God’s love for you, that he is indeed working out all things for your good, as you have been called according to his purpose (see Romans 8:28-29).  Amen.

2 thoughts on “My Life is Worth Living: The Joseph Narrative of Genesis

  1. Thanks for the ‘heads up’ on this. I love Joseph’s story and how it illustrates that God can use our ‘bad’ circumstances for good. Especially the part when Joseph reveals himself to his brothers – without resentment and in love – speaks of God’s unconditional love for us.

    Blessings.

Leave a Reply

