New Blog Post: On Leading Worship

Last week I had the privilege of joining an existing worship team and leading worship for the entire service.  I used to do this regularly at the church I previously served, but happily we have some gifted and capable people at this local church to take an active role in that ministry.  But I still enjoy leading worship when the opportunity arises.  Some people think that leading worship is about leading the people in singing songs of praise to our Lord.  True, that is a very important part of worship leading.  But worship is more than singing!  In fact, as far as the Sunday morning worship service is concerned, worship occurs from the Call to Worship to the final Blessing and song.  Some people have commented on my more liturgical style of worship leading, that I seem more formal than some other worship leaders.  For example, I will often include a litany (interactive prayer) or a Profession of Faith after the sermon, etc.  So why do I do this?  I do this because I am trying to engage the people in the worship service through speaking.  I’m also trying to help them respond to God’s Word.  Worship is not meant to be performative.  In other words, the worshippers should not remain passive listeners.  Good worship engages the people of God on many levels.  It calls them to participate in the cosmic dialogue between God and his people.  The worship service is also a place for spiritual formation.  When I lead worship, including when I preach and pray, my goal is to form people spiritually for mission.  My prayer is that the people will encounter the living God in the worship service and be compelled to seek His face through the week and respond to him with grateful service.  I could say more about leading worship, but I think this is enough for now.  I leave you with a Call to Worship: “This is the day the Lord has made; let us rejoice and be glad in it.” (Psalm 118:24 NIV)

2 thoughts on “New Blog Post: On Leading Worship

  1. Thanks Pastor, I am not familiar with this style of worship from my past experience. I am however in favour of entering into worship and find this to be a remarkable way of doing it. The fact that the entire congregation is involved ensures a sense of unity and family. I am encouraged that growing as a family of God will help equip us to go out into the community.
    Thanks again, Blessings Kirk

  2. I completely agree. When everyone is engaged and active in worship the room changes, the Holy Spirit moves in and hearts are opened and ready to receive the word. Familiar hymns and Spirituals bring a sence of reverence to a space. Even old worship and praise can lift a spirit and create a sense of familiarity.

Leave a Reply

