Post on the first annual Mayor’s Prayer Breakfast of Lacombe, AB

Well, I’m pleased to report that the first annual Mayor’s Prayer Breakfast of Lacombe, AB, was a success.  I confess that I was felt overly anxious about this event.  In fact, I was up at 3:30 a.m. that morning, which is very rare for me.  I guess I was nervous, since I was on the planning team, and I had done quite a lot of the background work, and naturally I wanted everything to go well.  At any rate, the Lord this blessed this event, which gathered about 170 community members to pray for the mayor of Lacombe and the city council.  We also heard Amanda Lindhout’s story of kidnapping and forgiveness, which was very moving.  I think it’s always appropriate to hear a story of human forgiveness, which naturally points us to God’s forgiveness through Jesus Christ our Lord.  Although I very much enjoyed hearing Amanda speak, I think that  in the future the ministerial should focus the program more on prayer for our leaders and country, which is the primary purpose of the event.

Leave a Reply

