A New Kind of Christian

I confess that I’ve had a hard time finishing books lately, but I had no trouble finishing A New Kind of Christian, by Brian D. McLaren (Jossey-Bass, 2001).  In this book, McLaren talks about following Jesus in a postmodern world.  He communicates his ideas through fictional characters who have a “philosophical dialogue.”  I resonated with most of what he says through these conversations.  Basically what McLaren says is that the modern era is over, and we must contextualize the gospel and change the way we do church for a new era.  For the most part I agree.  So I find myself hopeful as I read this book as he seems to be plotting a course that we must take as the church.  For example, there needs to be a stronger emphasis on community, opposed to the individualistic Christianity of the modern era (Jesus as our “personal savior”).  The disturbing thing is that McLaren says that it may be harder for a “seeker-sensitive” church like Wolf Creek Community Church (WCCC) to make the transition from a modern to a postmodern community of faith as it is thoroughly and unapologetically modern (following in the footsteps of Willow Creek Church and Saddleback), which seems to work–for now.  But maybe not for long!  What McLaren encourages, and which is my dream, is to turn WCCC into a centre for spiritual formation (a “prayerful community of love”) that will naturally attract and nurture people from all walks of life.  May the Lord guide me as I lead this church in this time of transition.

2 thoughts on “A New Kind of Christian

  1. I am really encouraged by this blog post. When you said in there that there has to be a stinger emphasis on community. On the recent mission trip our team witnessed 2 devastating accidents in the community that we were serving. One was a house fire and the other was a motorcycle accident that left a father dead. During both of those I noticed the strong community support that everyone had for those families. They all rallied around and help each other out. I can say with certainty that those family’s are well taken care of because of the overwhelming support from there neighbors. Praise God for this and I hope it can be an example for the way we should live also.

  2. I am really encouraged by this blog post. When you said in there that there has to be a stronger emphasis on community, on the recent mission trip our team witnessed two devastating accidents in the community that we were serving. One was a house fire and the other was a motorcycle accident that left a father dead. During both of those I noticed the strong community support that everyone had for those families. They all rallied around and helped each other out. I can say with certainty, that those families are well taken care of because of the overwhelming support from their neighbors. Praise God for this and I hope it can be an example for the way we should live also.

Leave a Reply

